MORGAN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS RIECKER BUILDING

37

The Board of the Morgan County Commissioners met in their office on Monday, February 09, 2004, with the following members present:

Bruce J. Dozer, Vice-President Ron Moore, Member

The meeting was called to order at 8:35am with the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

Minutes from the previous meeting were read and approved.

Kathy Reynolds of USDA/RD toured the Riecker Building on February 4, 2004, as she walked around she checked to see if Morgan County offices were compliant with posters and other reading material of Race, Color and Creed. Ms Reynolds was impressed with the renovation of the Riecker Building.

Enterprise Zone: Mr. Shaner reported that a Tax Incentive review is conducted each year. The purpose of the review is to identify any specific incentives that are in place. Commissioners were reminded that the entire county is designated as an Enterprise Zone; Malta Village and Malta Township since December of 1994; Stockport Village and Windsor Township since May of 1995; and the balance of the county since February of 1997. Any Business locating in any part of the county that meets Department of Development criteria is eligible for tax incentives. Eligible property for incentives includes new building construction for business creation; new machinery and equipment; or used equipment that is being put into service in Ohio for the first time. Currently, no tax incentive agreements are in place in Morgan County.

Ad Hoc Citizens Committee: Mr. Shaner reviewed several of the initiatives of the Ad Hoc Citizens committee. These initiatives are complimentary and consistent with the mission of the Community Development programs thru OSU Extension and are in no conflict with the Economic Development efforts being completed in Morgan County.

Extension Levy Committee is scheduled for February 09, 2004.

The Morgan County Improvement Corporation meeting was scheduled for Wednesday, February 11 at 9:00am in the second floor conference room of the Riecker Building.

Linda Sheets, Office on Aging, turned in the itinerary for the week.

Kim Reed to attend One Stop Seminar on March 12, 2004 in Zanesville. Joann Bloomfield, Dawn Coyle, Kay Drabik, Sid Richardson and Cathy Apperson to attend Food Stamp training on March 9, 2004 in Cambridge. Ginger Bowen, Zackie Zumbro, and DeeAnn Vandine to attend Food Stamp training on March 23, 2004 in Marietta.

Motion made by Ron Moore and second by B. Dozer to accept the travel requests as stated by Mr.Ridenour .

Vote: B. Dozer, yea R. Moore, yea

Mr. Ridenour recommended Jody Murray for Social Service Supervisor 1 position. This is a replacement for Tim Stickrath's position

4.82 Motion made by Bruce Dozer and second by Ron Moore to accept Jody Murray in the position of Social Service Supervisor 1 for DJFS.

Vote: B. Dozer, yea R. Moore, yea

4.83 Motion made by B. Dozer and second by R. Moore to accept request for leave as stated by Mr. Ridenhour.

Vote: B. Dozer, yea R. Moore, yea

4.84 Motion made by R. Moore and second by B. Dozer to issue an amended certificate for the amount of \$10,170 to fund #108

Vote: B. Dozer, yea R. Moore, yea

4.85 Motion made by B. Dozer and second by R. Moore to accept a Supplemental Appropriation of \$569.50 to be used in line item Drug Enforcement Trust Fund 035-0035-5301.00

Vote: B. Dozer, yea R. Moore, yea

Tom Reynolds requested that the Commissioners look into acquiring ownership of the McConnelsville School property for the purpose of housing the Farmers' market, Flea markets, and providing recreation for the citizens of Morgan County.

Mary Gessel, Clerk of Courts, expressed a need for a new Crime Stopper Program

39

Jeff McInturf, County Engineers office, questioned the hearing date of the Countrytyme Subdivision

Jeff Driggs, Morgan County Dog Warden turned in time and mileage sheets for the previous week.

04-86 Motion made by Ron Moore and second by Bruce Dozer to pay the bills.

Vote: C. Dodrill, yea B. Dozer, yea R. Moore, yea

With no further business to come before the board at this time, the commissioners unanimously adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

	COMMISSIONERS	
	Carl Dodrill, Jr.	
	Ronald Moore	
Sharon Travis, Clerk	Bruce J. Dozer	